The Madatov Trilogy


Page: 503
Format: 160 x 235 mm

Word: ≈ 147 000
ISBN: 9789941151194

The Madatov Trilogy

Author: Aka Morchiladze


A trilogy describing Georgia from 1890 to the 1930s, the action taking place in Tbilisi of 1899. The Caucasian gendarmerie is hunting the murderer of a homosexual painter who is suspected of having close ties with the Georgian establishment. 

The novel demonstrates the distinguished literary talent of the author: his refined ability to create remarkable characters and to bring to life the scenes of the past century. Among the characters, the reader encounters several historical figures such as the Norwegian writer Knut Hamsun, who visited Tbilisi at the end of the 19th century, and a well-known Georgian writer Ilia Chavchavadze. The author applies an interesting literary method by bringing in the characters from other contemporary Georgian novels. 

The Flight over Madatov Island was soon followed by a new novel To Disappear on Madatov Island, in which the action takes place ten years later. In the last book of the trilogy, The Whale on Madatov Island, the action takes place twenty years after the first novel. 

The Madatov Trilogy gives on overview of the whole epoch from 1899 to 1929 – the most crucial period in Georgia’s history. 

Rights Sold

Language Territory Publisher
Azerbaijanian World Alatoran